D.R. Congo Country Overview
The Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) is situated at the centre of Africa and covers an area of 2 345 095 km2 making it the 12th largest country in the World. In comparison, it is slightly larger than Greenland, or about a quarter the size of the USA. Its neighbouring countries are: Central African Republic; Sudan; Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi; Republic of Congo; Angola; Zambia; and Tanzania. Its borders cover 9,045Km. It has one of the largest rivers in the world, the Congo River (4,300km long). Its Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) area is about 13,690 km2 . The climate is of tropical type, characterized by annual precipitations ranging from 810 mm at the Atlantic coastal areas to up to 2000 mm in the central basin. In 2005, the population was estimated at 62 million people which represents a density of 26 inhabitants/km2 . The rural population makes up 80% of the population. Poverty is affecting more than 70 percent of the population. Over 90 percent of DRC‘s population lives below US$1 a day. Agricultural production comprises 79 percent cropping activities, 12 percent fisheries, and 9 percent livestock. Close to 66 percent of the total agricultural land is devoted to pasture and 34 percent to crop land. The agricultural sector occupies a predominant place in the Congolese economy.

Key Statistics
Population 75,259,000 (2011) Source: SADC Statistics Unit
Employed in Agriculture N/A
GDP (USD) 16,112,642,478 (2011) Source: SADC Statistics Unit
GDP Agriculture Share (%) 39.95 (2011) Source: SADC Statistics Unit
National Budget (USD) N/A
Agriculture Budget (%) N/A

Latest Maize Balance (MT)
Year N/A
Availability N/A
Requirement N/A

Food Insecurity Numbers
Year N/A
Consumption Period N/A
Total Vulnerable N/A
Recent Staple Crop Production (Maize)

Recent Livestock Population (Cattle)
Provincial figures
Provincial Crop Production